HERZEG`S THRONE ADVENTURES
The first station of this historical Herzeg`s throne adventures is Blagaj, than we visit ,Počitelj , waterfall “Kravica and last stop Herzeg Stjepan tower above city Ljubuški.
Blagaj fort locally known as Stjepan grad, is a town-fortress complex near the town of Blagaj, Bosnia and Herzegovina. The old Blagaj Fort (Bona, Stjepan grad) was built on a high, inaccessible karst hill, at an elevation of 310 metres (1,020 ft) above sea level and 266 metres (873 ft) above the source of the river Buna. Blagaj Fort is 275 metres (902 ft) above sea level. The archaeological material scattered above the slopes of Blagaj hill indicate that settlements existed here during the prehistoric and Roman periods. Remains of fortifications were discovered on each of the summit’s highest points: On the north-eastern summit, there are the remains of a Roman or late antique fortification or observation post (specula, burgus) known as Mala gradina, while on the south-eastern summit the contours of a prehistoric hillfort can be discerned. The south-western summit contains the remains of the present day Stjepan grad, a medieval or Ottoman period fort. The shorter sides of the triangle are bordered by a gorge through which a river once flowed, and on the longer and only accessible side the remains of massive ramparts are visible, enclosing a fortified town complex of more than 2 hectares (4.9 acres) in area. It is possible that this complex consisted of two parts in the early medieval period – the Old Fort (Stjepan grad) and Mala gradina, and that this twin settlement lasted at least until the mid-tenth century. The earliest indirect source in writing on the Zahumlje forts, including Blagaj, is the “Treatise on Peoples” by the Byzantine Emperor and writer Constantine Porphyrogenitus, dating between 948 and 952, in which two forts are referred to – Bona and Hum. After the 10th century, Blagaj played an important role in the development of Hum or Zahumlje. A major influence on its development was the proximity of a major route linking the Adriatic sea with the Bosnian hinterland via the Neretva valley (“via Narenti”). Turbulent political events, particularly after the tenth century, did not have any essential impact on the economic development of the town besides the occasional ramparts. The prince of Hum, Miroslav, held court in Blagaj (Orbini, II Regno, 350). During his time in the church of SS Cosmos and Damian was built. A plaque with an inscription in Cyrillic, found in 1912 near the ruins of the local manor of Bišća and the locality Vrači records the construction of the church (Vego, 1957, 15). The plaque is now kept in the National Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina. By the time of King Tvrtko, Bosnian rulers were issuing charters in Blagaj, and in May 1404 Blagaj became one of the residences of Duke (vojvoda) Sandalj Hranić, and then of count (herzeg) Stjepan Vukčić Kosača, after whom the people named the fort Stjepan grad. The first written reference to it is a peace accord between Duke Sandalj Hranić and the Venetians, from November 1, 1423, issued “in our town of Blagaj”. It was also mentioned in the 15th century charters of the King of Aragon and Naples, Alphonse V. The Ottomans occupied Blagaj in 1465, and by 1473 references to the kadija of Blagaj already exist. The Ottomans repaired the fort twice: in 1699, when the west tower was repaired, and again in 1827. A garrison was stationed there until 1835, although the fort’s former strategic role had long since been taken over by Mostar.
Počitelj, the hidden jewel of Herzegovina lies on a slope that makes a kind of amphitheater and overhangs the turquoise river Neretva. This pleasant resort is located 30 km south of Mostar on the way to the Adriatic coast. Its unique Ottoman architecture and Mediterranean style combines a special dimension to this city, making it a true jewel of architecture. This unique stone city was entered in 2007. on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The fort was built at the end of the 14th century by the order of the famous Bosnian king Tvrtko, but Počitelj was first mentioned in 1444. as a parish seat. Počitelj is a true open-air museum and a highly regarded place for many artists who find inspiration for the artwork in this magical landscape. In addition to its beautiful oriental architecture and Ottoman feeling, Počitelj hosts the longest working art colony in south-eastern Europe. Artists from all over the world, among other things, gather here to paint between bright red roses and figs that grow in abundance on the hillsides of Počitelj. Walking around town you feel like you’re back in time. Here you will see incredible architecture, city walls, mosques, art studios and much more.
The Waterfall “Kravica” is one of the most beautiful natural sites in the Herzegovinian region. Located on the Trebižat River, it cascades off a particularly large tuff limestone deposit and onto the lake below. The height of waterfalls varies from 26 to 28 metres, with a water amphitheater under the waterfall with a diameter 120 m. As a natural phenomenon it is under country’s protection as a natural rarity. The entire area is full of greenery with chaste trees, poplars and figs all around. Even the tuff formations are green with thick lichen, moss and grass all over them. There are hardly any manmade formations near the falls to interfere with the location’s complete natural environment. In spring, this stunning mini-Niagara of 25m cascades pounds itself into a dramatic, steamy fury. In summer the falls are less dramatic and the surrounding pools become shallow enough for swimming.
In the Middle Age up above Ljubuški, on the top Buturovica, a tower was built and is ascribed to Herceg Stjepan, even it’s older than him, and in written sources Ljubuški is first mentioned on February 22, 1444 under the name of Lubussa.
Shortly before 1447., the city fell to the Turks and became frontier tower with a strong crew. The Turks reinforced the tower into the war dwellings with all supporting facilities. After 1835. the tower in Ljubuški lost its defense and strategic role.
This tower had a granary, water reservoir, prison, commander’s house and settlements for the military garrison. In the 17th century, the masters from Dubrovnik repaired the town. At the begining of the 19th century the town lost its military importance and soon began to decay. Today the tower represents one of the biggest tourist attractions in the area of Ljubuški municipality and the entire Herzegovina.
Duration Herzeg`s throne adventures: approimately 7 hours
Place: Blagaj,Počitelj ,Kravica ,Ljubuški tower
Departure time: Mostar 8:00 am
Price: 40 € per person
Minimum 3 person
Included in the price:
– transportation from your accommodation in a comfortable car or minivan,
– a licensed guide and driver,
– tickets for the waterfalls of Kravica,
– all precautionary measures relating to weather conditions and first aid equipment.
– transport back to your accommodation.
Our tours are for individuals and share them with a group of people.
If you want a special private tour, contact us and we will let you know about the prices and possibilities.